My favourite poem


Let me tell you a secret. I like being bossed about. By poets.

Take this poem.

BLUNT

If we could love
the blunt
and not
the point

we would
almost constantly
have what we want.

What is the
blunt of this
I would ask you

our conversation
weeding up
like the Sargasso.

It’s by Kay Ryan, the former poet laureate of the United States. It’s all over the net so I hope she won’t mind me quoting it. You can see her reading her work here. You can buy her selected poems here.

I like it because it’s funny – the blunt, instead of the point – great! Ryan is on record saying she likes sayings, clichés, bromides and many of her poems are investigations and elaborations of phrases so common we don’t really hear them any more. She has even said that the purpose of poetry is to ‘save eprigrams’ .

I like Blunt because it’s clever.

I like it also because the language is so plain as to be unassuming. This is a very fashionable approach. There is huge disdain for poetical words. Apparently, out there in cyber space, there are lists of banned words which include ‘gossamer, shard, rainbow, dream’. Words like these have been overused, have carried too much baggage and now can’t carry any more.

It might seem self-conscious and voguey and neither of these are qualities I associate with good poetry. Plus we are always told there are no rules.

Then again, as one tutor explained to me, the best poetry comes from our own words. That makes sense to me although it’s pig difficult to write by.

Another reason I like this poem is that the main sound is ‘nt’ which is a sound you can’t say quickly. The poem itself forces me say it slowly, give it due consideration. When I read it, Ryan is in charge, making me perceive the world through her senses, a rare moment of connection with the inside of someone else’s brain, which is something that so many people, me included, seem to crave.

Sharon Olds does the same trick in her poem The Race. That poem, about a very tense time in the poet’s life, even controls the reader’s breath with lineation and punctuation, to help get us there, where the poet wants us to be.

It’s not new to them. You can see Shakespeare doing the same trick in Sonnet 18 – and many others I’m sure – with ‘Sometime too hot the eye of heaven shines’. The stresses in the iambic metre fall on the h’s of hot and heaven, forcing the reader to pant, or simulate panting. Robert Browning goes for the same idea in Home Thoughts from Abroad with the last line of the first stanza ‘In England – now!’ a line which regularly echoes through the halls of my mind because of its pace.

I also like the poem because of its rhymes. Kay Ryan is the mistress of rhyme. She uses a lot of half-rhyme and internal rhyme in ways I can’t begin to analyse because I’m not even nearly well enough read. But I love it. In another poem ‘Coming and Going’ she rhymes ‘fishes’ with ‘conditions’.  I’d write a fan letter but my jealousy would froth all over it.

The rhyme I admire most profoundly in Blunt is with a word that is not mentioned anywhere in the poem. But points and blunts? Things ‘weeding up’? I know what I think Ryan is choosing to let us read into her words. On the other hand, I might just be revealing my own preoccupations and my own interest in words we’re told not to say.

Poets. Sometimes they’re just not bossy enough.

What do you think? Do you have a favourite poem? Why do you like it? I’d love to know.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Writing
17 comments on “My favourite poem
  1. I love this poem. It’s simple and unpretentious. I like a poem that says a lot in a few words, and it really does make you think doesn’t it? We search for answers, rather than living in the moment – that’s what it says to me. Thanks for sharing it!

  2. I like the poem, too. And I agree with your blunt and point observation!

    I’m not sure I like the thought of there being a list of banned words on internet! Language is constantly changing, constantly assuming new meaning and new association, for these list-makers to suggest putting a stop to the usage of individual words, because ‘experts’ disdain them, is surely sacrilege. All writers would be well-advised to avoid cliché, hackneyed connotation, and tired symbolism, but to vilify single words in there simplest and purest form, the building blocks of writing, be that poetry or prose, seems odd. It’s up to the writer to find new and unusual ways of using these words. If a poem lacks vitality presumably it’s not the words that are at fault, but the poet.

    Cathy – you’re a talented writer and poet…write a cracking poem using ‘dream’ and ‘gossamer’ and prove them wrong!!!
    Ax

    • Cathy Dreyer says:

      You do it! I haven’t been able to find the lists, in fact and tbh I sort of agree that some words do lose their power when they’re used a lot. Not the word ‘and’ though. That seems to be okay. 🙂

      • Sadly, I’m no poet so ‘gossamer’ has no hope of rebirth with me!!
        Over-use certainly dilutes, but if a writer can take a tired word and breathe new life into it then that’s exciting.
        And ‘and’ def still packs a punch – thank goodness! xx

      • Cathy Dreyer says:

        Lawks that’s too challenging for me – gossamer is not a word that I would normally use. So I don’t feel any obligation to try and rescue it. It makes me think of those damp little flower fairies mewling and flapping around sentimentalised pictures of garden verbiage. It would have to be their wings all torn and wrecked on top of the smoking bonfire of their wands … YOU SEE – it can’t be done. Not by me anyway. Cathy x

      • Blimey, chick…you just did it!! I love Gossamer wings, torn to shards of young girls’ dreams, that burn on the bonfire of hopeful rainbows…
        Yikes, you’re right, gossamer, dreams, rainbows – Room 101 for you. xx

  3. Sheree Gillcrist says:

    Cathy. My poetry mentor is Kay Smith.A Canadian icon. Check out Old Women and Love on her web site. She does a reading. She and I read together many times both at poetry readings and on air on national radio. Let me know what you think.

  4. Articulate analysis – made me see things I’d not seen before! Thanks

  5. Jane Isaac says:

    Hey Cathy! I love a poem that I can relate too, that resonates, without me having to dig too hard to find the true meaning. I think this is beautiful. The contrast of blunt and point with the weeds of the Sargasso. Wonderful. Thanks for sharing.

  6. zencherry says:

    I love your fav! My fav is Emma Wheeler Wilcox: Laugh and the world laughs with you, Weep and you weep alone, For this sad old earth must borrow its mirth and has troubles enough of its own.
    It goes on, but this is my creed now. 😉 xoxo

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,638 other followers

Archives
