Highs and Lows of 2011


I’ve been tagged. I feel kind of dirty but also mildly popular and loonily pleased.

Really? Me?

Oh, okay. I can probably make time.

When you’re tagged you have to pretend to be really nice and fill out this form in the character of the ‘nice’ person.

Thanks Manda. I love pretending to be nice. It’s really easy for me.

SO:

WHAT HAS BEEN THE HAPPIEST EVENT OF 2011? A 26 mile charity walk that I helped organise in May. It was a beautiful day, featuring some of my favourite people. We walked it fast and best of all raised £27,000 for two charities (Breakthrough Breast Cancer and a children’s bereavement charity called Seesaw). It was a proud and happy day.
WHAT HAS BEEN THE SADDEST? Our next door neighbour, a fine person, died far too young, leaving his wife and four children, as well as the wider community, grief stricken. It took me a long time to be able to talk about it without weeping.
ONE UNLIKELY THING YOU WENT AHEAD WITH AND DID?I did a three hour literary criticism exam and passed (just scraped a 2:1 – but still). Even less likely, the headmaster of my boys’ school called me and asked me to join the governing body. I was immensely flattered and amazed and said yes immediately.
WHO LET YOU DOWN? Me, me, me – I can rely on me for that.
WHAT MADE YOU LAUGH? I was in the car telling a story to a friend, Cassie, about someone who’d (imho) gone mad and had a brazillian because a friend said her bush was ‘retro’. Cassie was trying to call her daughter as I spoke <rude>but couldn’t get through. Just as I let out the punchline (‘that’s much better although it’s still kingsize where it should be funsize’) a little voice piped out from the dashboard of the car with ‘Mummy, you’ve accidentally called me four times and all I can hear is you and Cathy talking about Brazilians’). We laughed until it hurt – a lot. There’s more on this elsewhere on earlier posts if you want it. Also Miranda Hart on telly.
WHAT MADE YOU CRY? A friend’s struggle to persuade the immigration authorities to let her children join her in this country. Every time she cried, which was understandably often, I cried too. (Unluckily for Kleenex shareholders they’re here now. Hooray!!) Also that walk. A field full of people wept as a woman who’d had breast cancer at least twice made it over the finish line with two of her three children under 7 years old in her arms and one hugging her legs. Also the John Lewis ad. The first one. Yes, I am embarrassed.
TELL US ONE THING THAT MADE YOU PROUD OF YOURSELF. The walk, as above. 2011 was all about the walk. I could have answered ‘the walk’ in almost all of these categories. We started with nothing but the wish to do a long walk somewhere beautiful and we made a bit of a difference and had fun. (We’re doing it again this year. If you live in the Thames Valley area and fancy a great day out, let me know. Or if you’re really rich and want to sponsor us, ditto.)
TELL US ONE CHALLENGE YOU OVERCAME. Here’s one I didn’t overcome. I had a dinner party (I find them very challenging, especially my own) and poisoned three people. Dismal.
IT HERE ANYTHING YOU’D LIKE TO CHANGE IN YOUR LIFE IN 2012 My knickers. Daily.

Your turn now @cathbore @justinbog

Kiss

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Writing
9 comments on “Highs and Lows of 2011
  1. May I please have the recipe for the thing you made that poisoned three people?

    Fun post, Cathy. Hope that you do it again in a year, even if you don’t get tagged.

  2. Ahem. That would be venison carpaccio. I’m sticking to bangers and mash in future …

  3. Writing Jobs says:

    Great post. I enjoyed reading your blog today.

    If you love to write we would love for you to join us!

    Writer Jobs

  4. *slaps you on the back manfully* Well done for The Walk. Sounds like a truly worthy cause. And er, the dinner invitation? That’s a no, from me. I like my inside juices INSIDE my body. Let’s go out for tapas instead 🙂 X

  5. Love your blog and deffo need your recipe for my next dinner party *mwhahaha ..*thinks of people who crossed him last year 😉 … oh and well done for the walk.. it’s a fantastic achievement !!

  6. Sheryl Brown says:

    So Cassie thought fast and said, ‘Nuts, darling. We were talking about Brazilian… Um…? Ahem.’ Nice blog. Well done on the walk! 🙂

  7. zencherry says:

    Knickers being changed daily is an AWESOME thing for 2012. There’s a few people I know, (and am gladly not related to), that need to read this. 😉

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,638 other followers

Archives
